get in touch

Don't hesitate in contacting us regarding your doubts and questions - we will be more than happy to assist you!


The British House of Commons is the lower, but more influential chamber of the Parliament of the United Kingdom. The upper chamber, the House of Lords, has Members that are appointed and not elected. As put by the Speaker of the House, John Bercow, the chamber is “the Cockpit” of British democracy.

Historically, the House of Commons was the least important chamber of Parliament, with Lords housing peers appointed by the monarch. The rise of the chamber started in the second half of the 13th Century and until the end of the 19th Century, the Lords still had the veto power over bills passed in the lower chamber. It wouldn’t be until the Parliament Act of 1911, when the Lords lost the veto power over the passing of bills.

Today, the House of Commons is composed by 650 Members of the Parliament, also referred to as Members of Parliament (MPs), elected every 5 years. The MPs take part in legislating and debating issues pertinent to the citizens of the country. The debate style of the House of Commons is known as one of cut-and-thrust, which allows for speeches to be spontaneously intervened during debate. This in turn is the reason for the lively style of the House of Commons, in which the MPs make a whole lot of noise (though, notably, are not allowed to applaud). It is then, the job of the Speaker to control the noise in the chamber if it is seen as an attempt to “drown out” a Member’s speech.

The Parliament debates Bills, which after being accepted by both Houses of Parliament and receiving Royal Assent become Acts (which are laws valid throughout the United Kingdom as a whole unless otherwise noted). The House of Commons is known for its oddities and traditions, with an Executive (HM Government) made up of Members of its Parliament and that is responsible to parliament and an eccentric debate style. Simulating this will lead to a lively experience with heckling and plentiful political moves throughout the conference.

members of parliament:

  1. Anna Soubry - Leader of the Change UK Party

  2. Boris Johnson - Prime Minister

  3. Diane Abbott - Shadow Home Secretary

  4. Dominic Raab - Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs

  5. Emily Thornberry - Shadow Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs

  6. Ian Blackford - Leader of the SNP Westminster Group

  7. Jeremy Corbyn - Leader of the Labour Party

  8. Jo Swinson - Leader of the Liberal Democrats Party

  9. John McDonnell - Shadow Chancellor of the Exchequer

  10. Kenneth Clarke - Father of the House

  11. Nia Griffith - Shadow Secretary of State for Defence

  12. Nigel Dodds - Deputy Leader of the Democratic Unionist Party

  13. Oliver Dowden - Minister for the Cabinet Office

  14. Priti Patel - Home Secretary

  15. Richard Burgon - Shadow Secretary of State for Justice

  16. Robert Buckland - Secretary of State for Justice

  17. Sajid Javid - Chancellor of the Exchequer

  18. Stephen Barclay - Secretary of State for Exiting the European Union

  19. Tom Watson - Shadow Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media & Sport


Enzo Castagna

Eduardo Koranyi


Negotiating the terms of the UK's withdrawal from the European Union

bhoc GUIDE: